Fly Tying Lap Station

A Fly Tying station so I could “watch” television with the family and not isolate myself , or just relax in an armchair with a glass of red ned, or tie more or less anywhere…Now, there are a number of great models out there and a quick search on Google will lead you to a number of far more elaborate models than mine. But then I try to keep it as simple as I can.

I based this on what I really needed and just about always used when tying flies. That meant I needed a station which could hold

  1. the vice (Okay, okay I can tie flies without one…really by hand… but it’s more of a party trick than fun)
  2. the tools (we’ll come to which ones in a moment)
  3. the varnishes & flytying wax (mostly I forget to use the wax)
  4. the magnifying glasses (probably, at my age and eyesight, the most needed of all)
  5. the sharpie (for dotting the “i’s” of course) & a yellow fabric pen (for making the eyes).

Now apart from number 5, everything on that list is used for just about every fly I tie. Number 5 was included because I had the space with the glasses. Everything else depended on what flies I was tying: the hook, the tying thread, the ribbing etc etc.; so all that stuff could be stored somewhere else and brought to the station as needed.

Making the station was pretty simple. I had some grooved boards left over from renovations (good Tasmanian oak). So I glued the boards to make the base. Now you could use a cutting board (wooden or nylon) or any flat base.

The tool holder and the oddments were made from hard foam packaging used for a PC. Just glued on and then the tools pushed in to make the necessary holes. I coloured around the holes with the Sharpie (not recommended as it will mark the tools); I’d suggest marking the holes with acrylic paint instead.

One great advantage of using this material was that I can stick the drying flies onto it.

The vice stem was separated from the clamp base and mounted in a small block of wood previously glued onto the board.  “Mounted” is probably overstating the process of jamming the stem into a hole slightly smaller than the stem’s diameter. 

I also added a trash collector (cut off from a plastic juice bottle). I was going to use velcro to position this, but having used it I won’t bother.

Image

One thing I might change. Increase the height of the vice. It’s a tad low.

ImageThe other advantage of having the top of the station clear is that I can add a clip on light.

 

The tools.

Image

Scissors, clips, bobbin holder, hackle pliers, ordinary pliers (for mashing down the barb, mostly), tube for aligning deer hair, velcro stuck onto a piece of old credit card for teasing out fur.

 

So there you go. Not the greatest piece of workmanship, but simple and effective.

Happy tying!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fly Tying Lap Station

  1. Pingback: Fly wallets & some more fly tying oddities | losthackle

Leave a Reply

