A Simple Alternative to the Stripping Basket

This idea is so ridiculously simple I feel almost embarrassed revealing it. It’s so simple, that I felt someone else surely had done the same thing, but I couldn’t find anything on the net. {And wouldn’t you know it, when I went to upload my YouTube video, there’s one from a guy demonstrating the Orvis Coil Keeper. He also casts a lot better than I do!)

I forgot the stripping basket one trip. In the back of the wagon was a wire coat hanger. I thought if I bent it to shape it might just hold the line off the water for me.

Darn thing worked and has worked every time I have used it. Here’s some pics.
wire

As you can see the “arms” are bent slightly upwards to allow the line to rest in the bend. The hook part of the coat hanger is closed up a little to hook over my wading belt.

It does take a little bit of getting used to. The main trick is not to drop the line at your feet, but rather to lay it down your side. Hopefully this little video will make it a bit clearer.

Yes, that is my yard in the background (a fisherman’s “lawn”). I could only cast a very limited distance in the space available, but the line holder has handled a lot more line than this, without tangling or getting hooked up. No guarantees in a wild wind, although I have used it in a stiff breeze without any issues.

I have a plastic coated coat hanger all ready and waiting for the deluxe and neater version, but, in the meantime, the old plain wire one is working fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

